12/13 poem

you were reliable,
i always knew when you’d come to town,
you’d give me a big kiss–
i know you’d never let me drown

i could expect the kiss and the conversation
were no match for my frown.
i always knew you’d cheer me up,
i know you’d never let me down.

and when i tried to protect a piece, you turned it all around.
it’s me– im the problem cause
i know you’d never let me down

and when i cried because you yelled, i was wrong cause
i didnt know thats how you joked around.
forgive me–i know you’d never let me down

so when i swam to free myself
from someone who was sure to let me drown,
my heart sank because i know you’d never let me down.

Leave a Reply

